A few weeks ago I blogged about the differences between reckless driving, speeding, and other traffic offenses. I said in that blog that there are several types of reckless driving charges and you cannot always identify the charge as reckless driving on the ticket. Below I have listed the charges that Virginia has included as reckless driving and included the code section for each. There are 14 of them.
1. Reckless driving; general rule. § 46.2-852
2. Driving vehicle which is not under control; faulty breaks. § 46.2-853
3. Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve. § 46.2-854
4. Driving with driver’s view obstructed or control impaired. § 46.2-855
5. Passing two vehicles abreast. § 46.2-856
6. Driving two abreast in a single lane. § 46.2-857
7. Passing at a railroad grade crossing § 46.2-858
8. Passing a stopped school bus; prima facie evidence. § 46.2-859
9. Failing to give proper signals. § 46.2-860
10. Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions § 46.2-861
11. Exceeding speed limit. § 46.2-862
12. Failure to yield right-of-way. § 46.2-863
13. Reckless driving on parking lots, etc. § 46.2-864
14. Racing; penalty. § 46.2-865
As you can see there are many different offenses that are categorized in Virginia as reckless driving. Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor as are DUI and DWI as well as hit and run in instances. These types of misdemeanors carry the possibility of confinement in jail for up to 12 months and or a fine of up to $2,500 as well as carry with them demerit point assessment of 6 points. You should contact an experienced attorney to discuss your options and your rights if you are charged with one of these offenses.